Export Google Latitude Friends

Google Latitude has been discontinued and a help center article offers more information about this. Unfortunately, there’s something inaccurate: “you can’t export your friend information out of Latitude”.

Well, you can export your Latitude friends because they’re added to a hidden Gmail group. Here’s how to do that:

1. go to this Google Contacts page

2. select all contacts

3. click “More”, then “Export” and pick one of the exporting options.

Then you can go to the People section in Google+, click “connect services” in the left sidebar, select “open address book” and pick the .csv file you’ve exported. You’ll get a list of people you can add to a new Google+ circle, let’s call it Latitude. Enable location sharing at the bottom of this page and restrict it to the circle you’ve created: pick “Custom” and select the Latitude circle. Unfortunately, Google only shows location dataon profile pages.

“Google Latitude will be retired on August 9th, 2013. Products being retired include Google Latitude in Google Maps for Android, Latitude for iPhone, the Latitude API, the public badge, the iGoogle Gadget, and the Latitude website at maps.google.com/latitude. We’ll delete your list of friends on Latitude. You won’t be able to see or manage friends. Any existing friends will no longer see your location in Google Maps for mobile on Android, Latitude for iPhone, the public badge, the iGoogle Gadget, and the Latitude website at maps.google.com/latitude, if you continue to use these products,” says Google.

Location History will continue to be available, since it’s used by Google Maps, Google Earth and Google Now. “Google Location History is an opt-in feature that allows you to store your past Google location history and see it on a Google Map or in Google Earth. Your Location History is visible only to you.” Location Reporting will also be available, since it “allows Google to periodically store and use your device’s most recent location data in connection with your Google Account”.

http://gplus.to/tquintana   @tquintana

Advertisements

Google retiring Latitude on August 9th, Google+ Locations the chosen successor

Google+ Locations

Google is now starting to roll out an updated Google Maps for Android & iOS, which was demoed at last month’s I/O. Alongside today’s news, the company has confirmed that Latitude, its location-sharing service, will be closing on August 9th.

All Latitude components, which include mobile apps, website, API, and badges, will be shut off in August. The service will be replaced by Google+ location-sharing and check-in features.

Google+ Locations launched earlier this year, providing similar functionality to Latitude allowing your circles (you may also choose it to be shown publicly, to certain individuals, or just you) to see where you are currently. Also, any places you check-in to will be shared with them. Today’s news should come to no surprise, as Google pushes its social network into more of its products.

After August 9th, Google will delete your friends on Latitude, stop sending privacy reminders, and remove the check-in option from the mobile apps. Google will continue to support itsLocation Reporting and History tools but will aim to push users to Google+ Locations over time. Android users already have access to Google+ Locations, with the feature landing in iOS soon.

Google Latitude was originally called Dodgeball, until Google acquired the service 2005. Rebranded in 2008, Latitude was Google’s competitor to Foursquare, allowing users to track their friend’s movements and check-in to locations.

http://gplus.to/tquintana   @tquintana

[Update] Enable Automatic Location Sharing

The Google+ now allows you to automatically share your location with those that you choose. The feature is very similar to the idea behind Google Latitude. However, now the sharing is integrated into the Google+ profile.

There is a brand new “Location Settings” option under the account settings for Google+. Under this is a check box to “Enable Location Sharing.” As with everything pertaining to Google+, this setting can be made available only for yourself, the public, extended circles, or specific circles.

more on this article…

http://gplus.to/tquintana   @tquintana